It’s central to our mission at Paines Plough to level up gender equality amongst writers in theatre. That’s why we’re so excited to be teaming up again with Ellie Keel to launch the Women’s Prize for Playwriting 2023.

Whatever age or experience you’re at, if you’re a female or non-binary writer, we want to read your work.

The submissions window opens on Monday 16th January at midday, and will close on Monday 17th April.

To find out more about how to submit your play, visit the Women’s Prize for Playwriting website:

The Judges

We’re also delighted to announce the full Judging Panel for 2023, chaired by Indhu Rubasingham, the artistic director of Kiln Theatre.

Our 2023 panel will be:

Samira Ahmed – Journalist, writer and broadcaster
April De Angelis – Playwright
Chris Bush – Playwright and lyricist
Noma Dumezweni – Actress
Mel Kenyon – Literary agent and Head of Theatre at Casarotto Ramsay
Anya Ryan – Journalist and critic
Nina Steiger – Head of New Play Development at National Theatre
Katharine Viner – Editor-in-Chief at The Guardian