Come to Where I Am

In April 2020 as the first national lockdown began and all touring and live performance were on hiatus, we responded to this rapidly changing world by launching COME TO WHERE I AM –a spin-off of our flagship project COME TO WHERE I’M FROM.

In partnership with theatres across the UK and in Australia, we commissioned 55 new short plays from writers to tell us stories about the places they call home and where they were when lockdown began. These were self-filmed and shared digitally with online audiences.

You can see all the series of this project below and we plan to perform the plays live at our partner venues when they reopen.

All content is free to watch with the option of donating and all donations will go directly towards employing writers to deliver more excellent new writing.

For certain groups who may find it more difficult or even impossible to access digital content, during 2020 we also offered caller service – live readings of the plays over the phone, allowing people with little or no online access to experience these plays.

We worked with some exciting TV actors to provide this caller service including  David BradleyJulie HesmondhalghLisa Hammond and Sally Dynevor.

THE TRUTH OF IT by Karine Polwart, UN-NATIVE by Corinne Salisbury, HOME by Jo Clifford, WHERE I AM FROM by Stef Smith


Karine Polwart
Corinne Salisbury
Jo Clifford
Stef Smith
Abigail Byron
Christina Berriman-Dawson
Kay Greyson
Charlotte Campbell
Chris Bush
Laura Lindsay
Todd Heppenstall
Kat Rose-Martin
John Hunter
Ella Hardy
Tim Norwood
Aisha Zia
Phil Ormrod
Clare Currie
Marianne Habeshaw
Camille Ucan
Ali Taylor
Adrian Tang
Sam Butler
Jane Upton
Simon Marshall
Jane Wainwright
John Booker
Daneka Etchells
Matt Sowerby
Nina Berry
Imogen Barnfather
Natasha Marshall
Kat Woods
Tom Wentworth
Jacob Hodgkinson
Olivia Preye
Little John Nee
Yasmin Wilde
Callum Beardmore
Alysha Herrmann
James Elazzi
Peter Matheson
Tahli Corin and Joshua Tuley
Jeanette Cronin
Tessa Rose
Alison Mann
Jon Bennett
Margaret Davis
Samah Sabawi
Kathryn Ash
Merlynn Tong
Ross Mueller
Mary Anne Butler
Ian Michael